School Login

School Board


Under the School Education Act 1999 (the Act), Independent Public Schools are required to have a School Board, with parent and/or community members being in the majority. The Act reinforces the importance of the partnership between schools, parents and the wider community so students can achieve the highest standards.

Evidence from overseas and around Australia clearly shows that where a board is fully involved in their school's planning and policy development, the school functions more efficiently with improved results for students.

Composition and Membership

A council is to determine its composition having regard to the nature of the student population and the school community, drawing its membership from among the categories below:
  • Parents of students at the school;
  • Members of the general community;
  • A member of the Parents and Citizens'Association;
  • Staff of the school in addition to the Principal;

Parent and general community members must form the majority of members, with there being at least one parent. The principal of the school is automatically a member of the council. A staff member at a school cannot be a parent or community member of the council of that school. A member of the community may be a member of the school council if they have experience, skills or qualications would enable him or her to contribute to the council's functions.

A non-incorporated board is to have at least and not more than 15 members while an incorporated council is to have at least 10 and not more than 15 members. For more information about school councils go to the WACSSO web site.

Current School Board

The current School Board consists of:
Lis Turner - Principal

Staff representatives:
Brenda Wann
Diane Suckling
Carol Anne White
Vanessa Gould

Parent representatives
Brooke Bennett
Marion Baumgarten
Jennifer Kniveton
Paula Luckcraft
David Powell
Sue Britt
Website by Scoop Design